The Kuraves karst region is located in the Kuraves valley. The mountain slopes are covered with dense walnut forests. Almost all the foothills and mid-mountains of the southwestern slopes of the Fergana Range are covered with dense forests. Limestone cliffs are exposed only in the upper part of the mountain range, which is rather difficult to reach.

In 2019, we made a reconnaissance of the area. We used a nice off-road vehicle. As soon as we got to the end of the forest, a heavy downpour overtook us. As a result of heavy rain, the dirt road became impassable and we were forced to pull our car out of the trap.
During the trip, we managed to take some photos of the area before we got out of here. The next day, we rented an old Soviet military vehicle UAZ from a local. On this car, we again reached the end of the forest and made sure that we should organize a base camp under the base of limestone rocks. We decided to leave this idea for the next expeditions.

Nevertheless, the locals told us about the caves, which seemed very interesting to us. Later, in the old Soviet literature (1975), we found a description of some researchers who explored 2 caves. Therefore, we decided to return here in 2021.

Local stories about the local caves

One of the local Kyrgyz said that the entrance to the cave is located at an altitude of more than 2000 m. The Kyrgyz call the cave Kyndyn-Kyry or Zindan, which in the local language means prison. The path to the entrance is very difficult, so it is better to use horses.

Inside the cave, in the large hall, even in summer you can see ice stalagmites and huge thin crystals. There is a glacier on the left side of the cave. Local old people have heard from their ancestors that in the IX-X centuries. ore was mined in the cave.

Exploration in the Kuraves valley

In 1971, a scientist historian and archaeologist, Dr. Leonid Ogudin partially explored the cave. As a result, he claimed to have found a new biological species of insect with many legs in the cave. These insects lived on ice. Biologists have established that this is a new species of insect and named it “kivsyak Ogudin”. But we do not know whether this was confirmed by the scientific community. If future expeditions of speleo-biologists find this species of insect in the cave again, then the cave should be taken under state protection. In 1971, the length of the cave, according to Ogudin’s description, was 220 m, the depth was 30 m.

Not far from the Kyndyn-Kyry cave there is another cave called Tash-Unkur. In it, Valentin Ogudin discovered a natural bonestorage of cave bears. V. Ogudin took bones from the cave and made research on the age of the bones. After hydrocarbon analysis, the age of bear bones was about 7-8 thousand years. This is a special subspecies of the brown bear, very large (now there are no such species in the Tien Shan). The bear was named Ursus Arctos Ogudinus, that is, “brown bear Ogudin”. Since then, the cave has not been explored by speleologists or other scientists. Also, the exact coordinates of the cave entrance are missing. A bear skull and part of the spine were found in the cave. The size of the Tash-Unkur cave is about 200 m. But as Ogudin writes, both caves have a continuation.

The excess of the entrances to the caves above the regional basis of erosion is more than 2000 m (Fergana Valley). Thus, we have to climb to an altitude of more than 2000 m from the main road.

We think to carry out new excavations of bones together with paleozoologists – this is a topic for scientific research and a great idea to organize an expedition to this unknown karst region of the Fergana ridge.
————————————————– ————————————————– ————
Exploration in the Kara-Alma valley

Another karst region, Sogon-Tash, is located in the Kara-Alma valley. According to archival descriptions of geologists for 1975, there is a cave “Sogon-Tash” in the cave, stalactites and other cave formations were discovered.
The area is also difficult to access. There are no roads here, and the presence of a dense forest makes it difficult to navigate the terrain. In 2019, we also conducted a reconnaissance of the area and made sure that it was necessary to use old army vehicles and horses to deliver equipment to the base camp. The outcrops of limestone rocks, which we saw from the dense forest, promise to be promising for finding caves here. The excess of exposed limestone cliffs over the Fergana Valley is about 2000-2300 m.

We are planning to explore the two above described karst regions. In the area where the caves or their signs will be found, we will concentrate our main attention.

We invite cavers to participate in an international expedition, especially speleo-biologists.

For the expedition, we will organize logistics, provide equipment for field base camps and prepare all the necessary official permits for research.

The purpose and objectives of the expedition:
– Search and research of caves previously described by V. Ogudin,
– Biological research,
– Search and exploration of new caves in the Kuraves and Kara-Alma valleys

The most favorable time for the expedition is July-August

Those wishing to take part in the expedition, write to us info@speleo.kg

Close
Social profiles

Карстовый район Куравес расположен в долине Куравес. Горные склоны покрыты густыми орехоплодовыми лесами. Почти все предгорья и среднегорья юго-западных склонов Ферганского хребта покрыты густыми лесами. Известняковые скалы обнажаются лишь в верхней части горного массива, до которой довольно сложно добраться. В 2019 году мы совершили рекогносцировку данной местности. Мы использовали хороший внедорожный автомобиль. Как только мы добрались до конца леса, нас настиг сильный ливень. В результате сильного дождя грунтовая дорога стала не проходимой и мы были вынуждены вытаскивать из ловушки наш автомобиль.

Мы успели сделать несколько фотографий этого района, прежде чем выбрались отсюда. На следующий день, мы арендовали старый военный советский автомобиль УАЗ у местного жителя. На этом авто мы снова добрались до конца леса и убедились, что мы должны организовать базовый лагерь под основанием известняковых скал. Эту идею мы решили оставить для следующих экспедиций.

Тем не менее, местные жители рассказали нам о пещерах, которые показались нам весьма интересными. Позднее, в старой советской литературе (1975 г) мы обнаружили описание некоторых исследователей, которые исследовали 2 пещеры. Поэтому, мы решили вернуться сюда в 2021 году.

Рассказы местных жителей о здешних пещерах

Один из местных кыргызов рассказал, что вход в пещеру расположен на высоте более 2000 м. Кыргызы называют пещеру Кындын-Кыры или Зиндан, что на местном языке означает тюрьма. Путь до входа очень сложный, поэтому лучше использовать лошадей.

Внутри пещеры, в большом зале, даже летом можно увидеть ледяные сталагмиты и огромные тонкие кристаллы. В левой части пещеры находится ледник. Местные старики, слышали от предков, что в IX-X вв. в пещере добывали руду.

Исследование в долине Куравес

В 1971 году учёный историк и археолог, доктор Леонид Огудин частично исследовал пещеру. В результате он утверждал, что нашёл в пещере новый биологический вид насекомого с множеством ног. Эти насекомые жили на льду. Биологи установили, что это новый вид насекомого и назвали «кивсяк Огудина». Но было ли это подтверждено научным сообществом нам не известно. Если будущие экспедиции спелео-биологов снова найдут этот вид насекомого в пещере, то пещера должна быть взята под охрану государства. В 1971 году длина пещеры по описанию Огудина составила 220 м, глубина 30 м.

Недалеко от пещеры Кындын-Кыры расположена другая пещера под названием Таш-Ункур. В ней Валентин Огудин обнаружил естественное Косте хранилище пещерных медведей. В. Огудин взял из пещеры кости и сделал исследования возраста костей. После углеводородного анализа, возраст медвежьих костей составил около 7-8 тысяч лет. Это особый подвид бурого медведя, очень крупного (Сейчас на Тянь-Шане таких видов нет). Медведя назвали Ursus Arctos Ogudinus, то есть, «медведь бурый Огудина». С тех пор пещера не была исследована спелеологами и другими учёными. Также, отсутствуют точные координаты входа пещеры. В пещере был найден череп медведя и часть позвоночника. Размер пещеры Таш-Ункур около 200 м. Но как пишет Огудин, обе пещеры имеют продолжение.

Превышение входов в пещеры над региональным базисом эрозии составляет более 2000 м (Ферганская долина). Таким образом, мы должны подняться на высоту более 2000 м от основной автодороги.

Мы думаем, чтобы провести новые раскопки костей вместе с палеозоологами – это тема для научных исследований и замечательная идея, чтобы организовать экспедицию в этот неизвестный карстовый район Ферганского хребта.

——————————————————————————————————————

Исследования в долине Кара-Алма

Другой карстовый район Согон-Таш расположен в долине Кара-Алма. По архивным описаниям геологов за 1975 год, здесь расположена пещера «Согон-Таш» в пещере были обнаружены сталактиты и другие пещерные формации.

Этот район также является труднодоступным. Здесь отсутствуют дороги, а наличие густого леса, не позволяет нормально ориентироваться на местности. В 2019 году мы также провели рекогносцировку района и убедились в том, что для доставки оборудования к базовому лагерю необходимо использовать старые армейские автомобили и лошадей. Обнажения известняковых скал, которые мы увидели из густого леса, обещают быть перспективными для нахождения здесь пещер. Превышение обнажённых известняковых скал над Ферганской долиной составляет около 2000-2300 м.

Мы планируем исследовать два вышеописанных карстовых района. В том районе, где будут найдены пещеры или их признаки, мы сконцентрируем основное внимание.

Мы приглашаем спелеологов для участия в международной экспедиции, особенно спелео- биологов.

Мы организуем логистику, предоставим оборудование для полевых базовых лагерей и подготовим все необходимые официальные разрешения для исследований.

Цель и задачи экспедиции:

  • — Поиск и исследование пещер описанных ранее В. Огудиным,
  • — Биологические исследования,
  • — Поиск и исследование новых пещер в долинах Куравес и Кара-Алма

Наиболее благоприятное время для экспедиции июль-август

Желающие принять участие в экспедиции, напишите нам info@speleo.kg

Close
Social profiles