The expedition is planned for July 2021.

Kozu-Baghlan is a vast karst area that has never been explored by speleologists. The karst area is located isolated from civilization. This is one of the most remote karst areas.
Therefore, we invite a team of speleologists who will be able to walk a lot on difficult terrain and look for new caves.

The Kozu-Baghlan karst area and its canyons are composed of Carboniferous (C) and Devonian (D) limestones. Limestones are a monolithic massif with many tectonic faults and cracks. The length of the mountain range is over 50 km. In 2021 we plan to explore this area.

The region is located between the Fergana Valley and the Turkestan mountain range. From the point of view of geologists, it belongs to the tectonic system of the Southern Tien-Shan. This area is in a sharply continental climate with hot summers and cold winters. Despite the fact that this area is surrounded by a desert landscape, it is a large accumulator of moisture in the autumn, winter and spring periods. There are large karst springs that drain at the foot of the mountain range and form several oases. These springs have an almost constant flow rate in winter and summer. The flow rate of the springs reaches 30-40 liters per second.

A classic karst landscape can be seen on the northern slopes of the mountain range. During a reconnaissance expedition in 2017, local residents told cavers about narrow entrances, behind which large underground galleries and halls continue. Due to lack of time, we were unable to conduct research on these entrances, leaving them for future expeditions. In the gorges and on the plateau of the massif, there are many signs of karst in the form of grottoes, niches, arches and other karst forms. In 2017, cavers explored only a small karst area in the Madigen oasis area.

An important geological feature is that this karst region is located along the zone of influence of the South Fergana hydrothermomineral belt. Therefore, caves of hydrothermal karst must form in its limestone strata. Some of the most beautiful caves in Kyrgyzstan are confined to the hydrothermal belt. But geologists say classic caves can form here.

The karst region occupies the area of ​​low and medium mountain climatic zones. The southern and northern slopes of the ridge are a classic karst landscape. In 1975, geologists discovered several dolines in the eastern part of the limestone ridge. The diameter of the karst funnels is about 20-30 m, the depth is up to 1-2 m. Some funnels (dolines) end in narrow ponoras in which precipitation waters disappear in spring.

This karst area is completely unexplored. It has never been examined by cavers. Three caves were found here in 1975. In 2017, small caves up to 100 m were found.Local residents can show several entrances, from where, according to them, a stream of warm air is felt.

On the vertical walls of the canyon, several promising holes are visible, confined to tectonic faults. For their research, you must have special training and equipment. Some of the easily accessible entries are small in diameter, requiring special methods and tools to expand them.

The climatic conditions are not very contrasting here. In summer, the average daily air temperature is + 30, +35 degrees. Winter is warm with an air temperature of + 10, +15 degrees.

The Madigen and Kozu-Baghlan canyons

For the first time, the canyons were discovered by speleologists in 2017 and 2020. They are confined to Carboniferous limestones (C), along tectonic faults. The vertical walls of the canyons reach a height of about 300-350 m. In some places the width of the canyons barely reaches 1 m wide. Therefore, the narrow width of the canyons does not allow visually seeing the entrances on the high vertical walls of the canyons.

Rivers flow in the canyons all year round, their sources are karst springs that drain the northern slopes of the Takta-Boz massif. In summer, the canyon bed fills with water, which creates excellent conditions for canyoning. In order to walk the entire length of the canyon, you will need several pieces of rope, from 5 to 20 m. Therefore, several vertical ledges and flooded places make the canyon difficult to pass, especially in spring.

In 2017, during a reconnaissance expedition, a huge entrance was discovered on the western vertical wall of the canyon, which was named “Soaring”. The entrance is confined to a vertical fault that cuts through the entire limestone massif, from the plateau to the foot. The thickness of the limestone layer above the entrance is about 150 m. The height of the wall between the entrance and the bottom of the canyon is about 150-200 m. Thus, in order to get to the entrance, you will need special equipment and a team of professionals. In our opinion, a rather large cave system should develop behind the promising entrance.

In the summer months, the air temperature reaches 35-40 degrees. Where karst springs drain, there are small oases that are the only water sources in the surrounding rocky desert. In 2020, our Foundation received all the necessary permits from the State Environmental Protection Agency, as well as support from local authorities for conducting research expeditions. In this regard, speleological research is planned in 2021.

All interested cavers can take part in the expedition. The most optimal option in terms of logistics and cost, the team should be at least 8-10 people. The most effective period for expeditions and exploration of new caves is two weeks in July.

Targets and goals

  1. Exploring known among locals caves
  2. Search and exploration of new caves
  3. The study of entrances at hard-to-reach walls of canyons.
  4. Search and research of sinkholes on the plateau.
  5. Geological exploration
  6. Hydrogeological studies
  7. Speleo-biological studies

Photos of the Kozu-Baghlan karst area

Expedition route, location of the karst region

Close
Social profiles

Экспедиция запланирована в июль 2021 г.

Козу-Баглан — это обширная карстовая область, которая осталась не исследованная спелеологами. Карстовая область расположена изолирована от цивилизации. Это одна из самых отдалённых карстовых областей.

Карстовая область Козу-Баглан и её каньон  сложены известняками каменноугольного (C) и девонского (D) возраста. Известняки представляют собой монолитный массив с множеством тектонических разломов и трещин. Длина горного хребта более 50 км. В 2021 году мы планируем исследовать эту область. Поэтому мы приглашаем команду спелеологов, которые смогут много ходить по сложному рельефу и искать новые пещеры.

Район расположен между Ферганской долиной и Туркестанским горным хребтом. С точки зрения геологов он относится к тектонической системе Южного Тянь-Шаня. Эта область находится в условиях резко континентального климата с жарким летом и холодной зимой. Несмотря на то, что этот район окружён пустынным ландшафтом, он является крупным аккумулятором влаги в осенний, зимний и весенний периоды. Здесь есть крупные карстовые родники, которые дренируются у подножья горного хребта и образуют несколько оазисов. Эти родники имеют почти постоянный дебит зимой и летом. Дебит родников достигает 30-40 литров в секунду.

Классический карстовый ландшафт можно увидеть на северных склонах горного массива. Во время рекогносцировочной экспедиции в 2017 г, местные жители рассказывали спелеологам об узких входах, за которыми продолжаются большие подземные галереи и залы. Из-за отсутствия времени мы не смогли провести исследования этих входов, оставив их для будущих экспедиций. В ущельях и на плато массива наблюдаются много признаков карста в виде гротов, ниш, арок и других карстовых форм. В 2017, спелеологи исследовали только небольшую карстовую площадь в районе оазиса Мадыген.

Важной геологической особенностью является то, что этот карстовый район расположен вдоль зоны влияния Южно-Ферганского гидротермоминерального пояса. Поэтому, в его известняковых толщах должны формироваться пещеры гидротермального карста. К гидротермальному поясу приурочены некоторые красивейшие пещеры Кыргызстана. Но геологи утверждают, что здесь могут формироваться классические пещеры.

Карстовый район занимает площадь низкогорного и среднегорного климатических поясов. Южные и северные склоны хребта представляют собой классический карстовый ландшафт. В 1975 году, геологи обнаружили несколько карстовых воронок (dolines) в восточной части известнякового хребта. Диаметр карстовых воронок, около 20-30 м, глубина до 1-2 м. Некоторые воронки (dolines) заканчиваются узкими понорами в которых весной исчезают воды атмосферных осадков.

Этот карстовый район абсолютно не изучен. Он никогда не осматривался спелеологами. Три пещеры были найдены здесь в 1975 г. В 2017 были найдены небольшие пещеры до 100 м. Местные жители, могут показать несколько входов, откуда, по их словам, ощущается поток тёплого воздуха.

На вертикальных стенах каньона видно несколько перспективных отверстий, приуроченных к тектоническим разломам. Для их исследования необходимо иметь специальную подготовку и оборудование. Некоторые легкодоступные входы имеют маленький диаметр, что требует специальных методов и инструментов для их расширения.

Климатические условия здесь не очень контрастны. Летом среднесуточная температура воздуха + 30, +35 градусов. Зима тёплая с температурой воздуха + 10, +15 градусов.

Каньоны Мадыген и Козу-Баглан

Впервые, каньоны были обнаружены спелеологами в 2017 и 2020 годах. Они приурочены к известнякам каменноугольного возраста (C), вдоль тектонических разломов. Вертикальные стены каньонов, достигают высоты около 300-350 м. В некоторых местах ширина каньонов едва достигает ширины 1 м. Поэтому, узкая ширина каньонов не позволяет визуально увидеть входы на высоких вертикальных стенах каньонов.

В каньонах круглый год текут реки, их источниками являются карстовые родники, дренирующие северные склоны массива Такта-Боз. Летом русло каньонов наполняется водой, что создаёт отличные условия для канъонинга. Для того, чтобы пройти каньон по всей длине, понадобится несколько отрезков верёвки, от 5 до 20 м. Поэтому, несколько вертикальных уступов и обводнённые места делают каньон труднопроходимым, особенно весной.

В 2017 году, во время рекогносцировочной экспедиции, на западной вертикальной стене каньона, был обнаружен огромный вход, который получил название «Парящий». Вход приурочен к вертикальному разлому, рассекающему весь известняковый массив, от плато, до подножья. Мощность известняковой толщи над входом около 150 м. Высота стены между входом и дном каньона около 150-200 м. Таким образом, для того, что бы попасть к входу, потребуется специальное снаряжение и команда профессионалов. По нашему мнению за многообещающим входом должна развиваться довольно крупная пещерная система.

В летние месяцы, температура воздуха достигает 35-40 градусов. В местах дренирования карстовых родников находятся небольшие оазисы, которые являются единственными источниками воды в окружающей каменистой пустыне.

В 2020 году, наш Фонд, получил все необходимые разрешения от Государственного агентства охраны окружающей среды, а также поддержку местных властей на проведение исследовательских экспедиций. В связи с этим, спелеологические исследования планируется в 2021 г.

Все желающие спелеологи могут принять участие в экспедиции. Наиболее оптимальным вариантом с точки зрения логистики и стоимости, в команде должно быть не менее 8-10 человек. Наиболее эффективным периодом для экспедиции и исследования новых пещер, являются две недели в июль.

Цели и задачи:                                                                                                                                              

  1. Исследование пещер, которые знают местные жители
  2. Поиск и исследование новых пещер
  3. Исследование входов на труднодоступных стенах каньонов.
  4. Поиск и исследование карстовых воронок на плато.
  5. Геологические исследования
  6. Гидрогеологические исследования
  7. Спелео-биологические  исследования

     Фотографии с карстового района Козу-Баглан

Маршрут экспедиции, расположение карстовой области 

 

Close
Social profiles